Don Rogers JA BizTown

Volunteer of the Year Award


In 2015, HC*EXCELL created the Don Rogers JA BizTown Volunteer of the Year Award to recognize an individual who emulates Don Rogers in their volunteer service and spirit to our fifth grade students through their outstanding support and commitment in promoting Workforce Development through Junior Achievement BizTown programming.



Award Recipient:

SunTrust Bank, Morristown TN



Award Recipient:

Ray T. Murphy and the Alcoa Foundation

Ray T. Murphy and the Alcoa Foundation have for over five years provided exceptional volunteer service in recruiting volunteers for our most vulnerable schools. Ray has helped design and strengthen our volunteer surveys as well as presented on behalf of the Hamblen County JA BizTown Program. To date Ray and the Alcoa / Howmet administration have provided more than 60 volunteers. Congratulations Ray!


JA BizTown History:

In 2008 Don Rogers approached the HC*EXCELL Board of Directors and Hamblen County School System with a vision of strengthening Hamblen County’s future workforce through expanding Junior Achievement programming for elementary students. At the time only 3 to 4 Hamblen County elementary classes were participating in Junior Achievement. Rogers asked the HC*EXCELL Board of Directors to facilitate the expansion and growth of this program to introduce our youngest population to basic business skills and knowledge. Rogers’s objective was to provide a student pathway to connect the dots between academic curriculum and applied skills.  

His inspirational vision in addition to his monetary support were the catalyst that ignited the exponential growth from a few Junior Achievement classes at Alpha, Fairview-Marguerite and Manley Elementary Schools to a county wide and community supported fifth-grade JA BizTown workforce development initiative.  In 2014, Hamblen County had over 800 students, 220 volunteers and 31 teachers participate in JA BizTown. This year 848 students have or are in the process of being prepared for the 2015 program.


Award Criteria:

The criteria on which the recipient of the Don Rogers JA BizTown Award is selected is based on the following:

1. Nominee will be a parent, individual, business or teacher who has provided outstanding volunteer and/or financial support to the Hamblen County JA BizTown program over multiple years;

2. Number of hours of service, years of service, unusual type of contribution and/or unique characteristic of services performed in supporting the HC JA BizTown Program; additionally

3. Nominees may be recommended by a teacher, principal, school system, JA of East Tennessee or HC*EXCELL.



(click to open)





| founders | benefactors | board of directors | staff | P-16 Council | e-News |

| teacher of the year | national board certified teachers | JTEKT award | Don Rogers JA BizTown Volunteer award | invest |


All Rights Reserved HC*Excell 2017
Site Design:
Thoraval Marketing / L Ketner